Commonwealth Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries, 2018


The Commonwealth is inviting qualified applicants from Developing Countries to apply for its scholarship.

About the Commonwealth Scholarships
The Commonwealth Scholarship is an international programme under which Commonwealth governments offer scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other Commonwealth countries. These scholarships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), with the aim of contributing to the UK’s international development, aims and wider overseas interests, supporting excellence in UK higher education, and sustaining the principles of the Commonwealth.

Applicants can apply for a Commonwealth Split-site (PhD) Scholarship to support up to 12 months’ study at an eligible UK university as part of a PhD being undertaken in your home country, under the joint supervision of home country and UK academics.


All courses.

1. Approved airfare from your home country to the UK and return at the end of your award (the CSC will not reimburse the cost of fares for dependants, nor usually the cost of journeys made before your award is finally confirmed.

2. Approved tuition and examination fees.

3. Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,034 per month, or £1,268 per month for those at universities in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at 2015-2016 levels).

4. Thesis grant towards the cost of preparing a thesis or dissertation, where applicable.

5. Warm clothing allowance.

6. Study travel grant towards the costs of study-related travel within the UK or overseas.

7. If you are widowed, divorced, or a single parent, child allowance of £444 per month for the first child, and £109 per month for the second and third child under the age of 16, if you are accompanied by your children and solely legally responsible for them.

1. Citizens from the following commonwealth developing countries are eligible to apply: nguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British) and Zambia.

2. Candidates must be a Commonwealth citizen, refugee, or British protected person

‣ Eligible applicants must be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country

‣ Students must be registered for a PhD at a university in their home country

‣ Applicants must be available to start their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2018

‣ By October 2018, candidate must hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)

‣ The CSC promotes equal opportunity, gender equity, and cultural exchange. Applications are encouraged from a diverse range of candidates.

Information on 2019 Commonwealth Split-site Scholarships will be available on this page in August 2018. Therefore, get the necessary documents ready for the next round of application.

Follow this link to learn more about this scholarship opportunity


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here