10 African Union Scholarships for the Masters Programme in Epidemiology at the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa, 2019


The Africa Centre for Disease Control and Prevention (Africa CDC) , a Specialized Technical Health Agency of the African Union, invites qualified candidates to apply for a full scholarship to
undertake the full-time study in the Master’s Degree in Epidemiology at the University of the Witwatersrand’s School of Public Health, South Africa.

About the University
The University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, is a multi-campus South African public research university situated in the northern areas of central Johannesburg, South Africa.

Wits University is the home to 28 prestigious South African Research Initiative (SARChI) Chairs and six DST-NRF Centres of Excellence. There are just more than 411 NRF rated researchers, of which 26 are ‘international leading scholars’ in their research fields, or so called A-rated researchers. The University also has a wide range of research entities including 14 large externally funded research institutions.


1. Epidemiology and Biostatistics
2. Field Epidemiology
3. Infectious Diseases Epidemiology
4. Public Health Informatics
5. Biostatistics and
6. Implementation Science.

1. The cost of one most direct return economy air ticket per year;
2. Tuition fees which will be paid directly to the University;
3. Basic medical and accident insurance;
4. Monthly stipend to cover living expenses including accommodation;
5. A limited allowance towards the costs of recommended learning materials (reference text
books and necessary software);
6. Limited support for the research project expenses and
7. Limited support towards the cost of a laptop.

Applicants must:

1. Be a citizen of and resident in any of the 55 African Union Member States, and working with a National Public Health Institute.

2. Be nominated by a National Public Health Institute of any of the 55 African Union Members States.

3. Have proof of admission to undertake the full time Masters programme at the University
of Witwatersrand.

4. Be a holder of a honours degree or equivalent in a relevant field, an MBBCh or other health related degree, at the level of Upper Second Class Honours or equivalent

5. Have graduated from a reputable fully accredited University.

6. Have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement as evidenced by academic transcripts, and academic awards, if any.

7. Be able to commit to work in a National Public Health Institute in an African Union Member State on completion of studies for at least three (3) years.

8. Applicants should be 35 years or younger by 31st August 2018.

9. Be proficient in English
10. Meet the university programme’s requirement.

August 31, 2018.

Application Process

The application process is in two-fold.

1. i. Application for admission to the University of the Witwatersrand
Apply by completing a University of the Witwatersrand postgraduate application form online

For general application queries, visit here

An application fee of R200 is required for all applications.

ii. Application for university accommodation
To apply for accommodation, visit here

Deadline for application for accommodation is 31 October 2018.

2. Application for scholarship is separate from the course application. It involves the following steps:

a. Completed application form.
b. Recent passport-size photograph
c. Comprehensive curriculum vitae including a description of relevant research and work experience and names and contacts of two referees
d. Certified copies of academic certificates and transcripts
e. Certified copy of bio-data page of Passport or National Identity Card
f. Evidence of application to study in the MSc Programme at the University of the Witwatersrand of the School of Public Health commencing in the 2019 academic

Completed application form and all other required documents should be sent to africacdcscholarships@africa-union.org

Two (2) sets of hard copies of the documents must also be sent by post to the address below:
Africa CDC Public Health Scholarship Programme
Education Division
Department of Human Resources, Science and Technology
African Union Commission
P.O. Box 3243

Scholarship Link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here